• The Submerged Beauty of Formosa: Shun-Fa Yang Solo Exhibition
  • The Submerged Beauty of Formosa: Shun-Fa Yang Solo Exhibition
  • The Submerged Beauty of Formosa: Shun-Fa Yang Solo Exhibition

The Submerged Beauty of Formosa: Shun-Fa Yang Solo Exhibition

Shun-Fa Yang has started taking photos since he entered the China Steel Corp. in 1985. Over the years, he has successively created a variety of photographic works and announced different thematic series. In course of his artistic creation, Yang often employs different props and arranges diverse characters in the background to create a variety of realistic and imaginary stages, such as his early series: Rebuilding the Kingdom and Rampant Beasts. Through the created scenes, he attempts to reveal and taunt the actual society beneath the seeming while to show “the present look of Taiwan” that he’s observed and experienced.

 

In 2016, Yang was invited to exhibit his Homeland and Rootless series in the “Mournful Morrow—Four Taiwanese Photographers”, an exhibition curated collaboratively by the internationally renowned curator Michel Frizot and the Taiwanese curator Ying-Long Su and which was held at the Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris, France. His works were collected by the organizer after the exhibition came to a close. At that time, Yang was very happy and asked in mind “would it would be the climax of his creative career?” The answer is “No” as that was just the starting point for another phase of his life.

 

In 2017, Yang brought his latest series The Submerged Beauty of Formosa to partake in “The South: An Art of Asking and Listening” (Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts) curated by Manray Hsu, and also jointly exhibiting in The Future of Borders to of Autostrada Biennale. This series, which has been planned and created since 2015, immediately caught the eye of the audience and touched off the discussion in the art field. In addition, Beyond Gallery, as an exhibition for four successive years, presented The Submerged Beauty of Formosa at the Grand Palais in Paris for the 21st edition of Paris Photo. Unique theme, image developing technique and the form to mount made this series highly praised by foreign photographers and were collected by collectors from several countries including France, Germany, the United Kingdom and the United States. The exhibition in Paris Photo was brilliant and Yang was overjoyed; what’s amaing was, the works evoked resonances of collectors and audience from so many different countries, not the money can do.

 

The surprise has not come to an end. Yang did not think of but it happened that The Submerged Beauty of Formosa earned Yang 2018 Kaohsiung Awards. A succession of achievements made Yang forget the hardship and embarrassment of wearing rubber boots, carrying photography equipment and long ladder, stepping into muddy land and icy sea water when taking photos. For the theme of this series, the artist took the seaside landscapes of Yunlin, Chiayi and Nantou counties as the objects; the idea to produce this series was originated from his concern about our homeland, his reflection and weeping on the realistic society and the changes of geographical environment in Taiwan.

 

To shoot the scenes he wanted to reveal, Yang traveled to some places, such as Tainan where was the largest lagoon area as well as the coastline that changed most in Taiwan; Lo̍k-ní-mn̂g, the place that Zheng Chenggong took hard but successfully landed more than three hundred years ago, is now easy to get to by car. Natural evolution and mankind cultivation have created many stories for the coast of Tainan. Yang, who was born in Shanhau in Tainan, witnessed that the salt fields, general buildings, blockhouse facilities, salines and farmlands left in the period of Japanese rule have been gradually submerged in the sea water. The shouting of saline workers, the noise of machines and majestic and might answering of soldiers… all these childhood memories are no longer present today. The broken bricks and ruins, the bamboo rafts that can't be drawn along the shore... no one pays attention to and nobody cares. This is a terrible story of land, and Yang transforms them into somewhat clear but passing landscapes which are mounted in the elliptic shapes like those appearing in traditional Chinese fans. Even though the works look like classic literati paintings, they actually represent the tragic changes of the coastal environment in Taiwan.

 

When The Submerged Beauty of Formosa was exhibited at the Grand Palais in Paris, one of French audience said with exclamation, "Yang transformed the scars and fissures of the Earth into epic, elegant and beautiful scenes, yet they brought about great sadness that could not be relieved!” These words cogently hit the characteristics of Yang’s works; like the review given by Horng-Yi Chen, the juror of Kaohsiung Awards, “Shun-Fa Yang’s works are good at turning the tragic scenes of the environment and history into poetically artistic visual texts. His ‘dramatic’ photography presenting the theme of Taiwan’s ukiyo-e is already very distinctive and powerful in his personal style."

 

The Submerged Beauty of Formosa is quite different to Hongmaogang, the beautiful and other previous series in terms of expression techniques and forms. Yang no longer uses the props and painstakingly arranged stories to evoke the imagination of the audience. Instead, he uses a special shooting perspective and producing techniques to faithfully present the original appearance of the scenes. This kind of reduction creates a romantic illusion that allows the viewers to experience a montage that lingers between reality and fantasy. Looking at the abandoned houses floating in the ocean, it seems to put ourselves in the ancient paradise, as if it were an insight into the future parables of human destruction.

• 台灣水沒—楊順發個展│2018.05.12~2018.06.23
  • 台灣水沒—楊順發個展│2018.05.12~2018.06.23
  • 台灣水沒—楊順發個展│2018.05.12~2018.06.23

台灣水沒—楊順發個展│2018.05.12~2018.06.23

 楊順發正式接觸攝影,是從1985年進入中鋼工作後開始。這些年來他創作不綴,陸續發表了不同的作品形式和主題系列。在創作時楊順發慣常在背景中應用各種道具、安排各式角色,打造各種現實又虛幻的舞台,如早期的《再造王國》、《野獸橫行》系列。藉由這些情境,揭示、嘲諷虛矯表象下的真實社會面貌,表達他所觀察、體驗到的「台灣現世相」。

 

2016年,楊順發的系列作品〈家園遊移狀態〉受邀參加國際著名策展人Michel Frizot,和台灣策展人蘇盈龍共同策劃的《傾圮的明日--四位台灣攝影家聯展》,於巴黎的歐洲攝影之家 (Maison Européenne de la Photographie)展出。展覽結束後,作品也被主辦單位典藏。當時,楊順發非常的開心,心想這會不會就是他創作生涯的高點呢?答案:不是!這,只是他人生另一個階段的起(啟)點!

 

 2017年,楊順發以他的新作〈台灣水没〉參與了由徐文瑞策劃的:《南方-問與聽的藝術》(高雄市立美術館),以及”The Future of Borders” 科索沃雙年展。這一系列自2015年開始規劃、創作的作品,展出之後立即引起藝術圈以及觀眾的矚目與討論。非畫廊也將〈台灣水没〉系列作品帶到巴黎大皇宮,參加第21屆Paris Photo攝影博覽會。〈台灣水没〉獨特的主題、影像創作技術和裝裱形式,廣受國外攝影愛好者的青睞,並被來自法國、德國、英國和美國等不同國家的收藏家典藏。這次展出的成果斐然,令楊順發喜出望外;開心的是有來自這麼多不同國家的收藏家及觀眾和他的作品產生共鳴,而不是金錢上的回饋。

 

 驚喜還沒有結束,楊順發沒有想到〈台灣水没-保國護土篇〉竟然得到高雄市立美術館2018年的高雄獎。一連串的好成績,令楊順發忘卻了拍攝作品時,穿著長膠鞋、背著攝影器材和長梯,踏入泥濘和冰冷的海水裡的艱辛和困窘。以台灣雲、嘉、南海邊風景為主題創作的〈台灣水没〉,最初的發想源自於他對家園的關注、對現實社會以及對台灣地理環境變遷的感懷與泣訴。

 

 他所選擇拍攝的地點如:台南,早期是台灣最大的潟湖區所在地,也是海岸線變動最大的地方;三百多年前鄭成功辛苦登陸的鹿耳門,現在開車就可以到了。自然演化和人類的拓荒開墾,為台南海岸創造了有許多故事。出身於台南善化的楊順發,眼見日據時代遺留下來的鹽場官舍、軍事碉堡設施、漁塭、農田…等,逐漸地浸泡在日益加深的海水中;鹽工們的么喝聲、機具的吵雜聲、雄壯、威武、高亢的軍人答數聲…那些他從孩提時期即有的記憶,如今都不復存在。殘破的磚瓦廢墟、無岸能靠的竹筏…無人關注、無人理會。這是一頁慘烈的土地故事,被楊順發轉化為清淡的風景,並以中國傳統扇葉的橢圓形式呈現,猶若古典寫意的文人畫,實則卻是臺灣海岸環境令人怵目驚心的悲慘變化。

 

 〈台灣水没〉在巴黎大皇宮展出時,曾有一位法國觀眾驚嘆的表示:「楊順發將地球的傷痕和裂隙,轉換成如史詩般優雅美麗的畫面,卻產生令人無法釋懷的巨大悲愁!」這句評語十分中肯地表達了楊順發作品的特質。誠如高雄獎評審陳泓易的評論:「楊順發的攝影作品擅長將環境與歷史的悲劇場景翻轉成充滿詩意的藝術性視覺文本,他的『編導式』攝影呈現的台灣浮世繪主題,已經是辨識性極強烈的藝術家個人風格。」

 

這一系列的〈台灣水没〉作品,與之前發表的〈紅毛港〉和其他作品系列,在表現手法和形式上有很大的不同。楊順發不再用擺拍的道具和特意安排的情節敘事,來誘發觀眾的想像,而是以特殊的拍攝視角及製作技術,忠實地呈現拍攝場景的原貌。這樣的還原,反而創造了另一種浪漫的幻想,令觀眾經驗了一種徘徊於真實與夢境之間的蒙太奇。看著在汪洋中漂浮著的廢棄屋舍,卻如同置身於古人嚮往的桃花源中,彷彿一則洞見人類步向自我毁滅的未來寓言。