• Newborn˙Confinement -Yi-Ting Tsai Solo Exhibition
  • Newborn˙Confinement -Yi-Ting Tsai Solo Exhibition
  • Newborn˙Confinement -Yi-Ting Tsai Solo Exhibition

Newborn˙Confinement -Yi-Ting Tsai Solo Exhibition

To Tsai, painting is like a diary recording the different stages of life. If we look at Tsai's works closely, one may find that the artist undoubtedly puts her life history into the works during the formation of her creative style. In the exhibition at Beyond Gallery, it can be seen that the works are the observation and expression of a personal body from different angles, in which they are not only stemmed from the perspective of a woman but added with the experience of being a mother.

 

Since she had her last solo exhibition in 2013, Tsai had not held a solo exhibition for nearly five years. During the period of time, she has taken on another role—mother. Tsai is a full-time mother who has never given up her road to artistic creation. Even when she was already sporting a baby bump, she would go to the studio near her house every night. Although the studio space was not roomy, she insisted on unfastening the bundled watercolor papers, kneeing down and bending over on the floor to paint without distraction. To the artist, this is her everyday life.

 

Tsai named the exhibition Newborn.Confinement after thinking over for a long while. More than a dozen works on display were the recording of her feeling and status during the postnatal confinement after giving birth at the first time. She said, the confinement was a transitional period to her, in which it bore the physical adaptation and identity shift.

 

Through painting, it is an actual way to know Tsai Yi-ting. Tsai simultaneously employs pastels and acrylic pigments in the selection of mediums, yet she has always insisted on painting on papers. The rich linearity of pastels immersed in the fiber chinks by using hands to swear forms a highly-perceived tactile exposition; and through a large number of lines and a powerful stack of colors, the artist truly demonstrates her psychological conflict, physical shock and the changes of complex emotions.

 

Art is a projection of life. Even if life is full of components that can be estimated, art cannot be given a concrete definition like life. The protagonist is a leopard in the Newborn.Confinement No.4 and No.6; the leopard is produced in repeated lines, rendering and daring colors, in which it represents the manifestation of true emotions and its eyes reveal sadness, helplessness and fright. In the scene of Newborn.Confinement No.5, four beasts surround a chair. There are metaphorical implications in the painting, on which the chair symbolizes the baby who cannot punch, and the beasts the mothers who are protecting the baby, yet it is safe or dangerous?

 

From Tsai’s paintings, one can perceive some original messages. The artist attempts to infuse more abstract elements into Newborn.Confinement No.4, in which the dislocation of the human body has become an unpredictable and sculpture-like dimension. Through the entwined and cuddled bodies, Tsai is renewing the “portrait and body”, an theme with which she has been long concerned.

 

Tsai Yi-Ting, currently a full-time artist, was born in Hsinchu in 1981. She graduated from the Taipei National University of the Arts in 2004 and earned a Master’s Degree in art theories from the Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in the UK in 2006. So far, she has had her exhibitions in Taiwan, Japan and the United Kingdom. Newborn.Confinement, a solo exhibition of latest works by Tsai, is held at Beyond Gallery from March 24 to May 5.

• 初生。月內—蔡依庭個展
  • 初生。月內—蔡依庭個展
  • 初生。月內—蔡依庭個展

初生。月內—蔡依庭個展

對於藝術家蔡依庭來說,繪畫如同日記般記錄下生命的不同階段,如果仔細端看蔡依庭的作品,其創作風格形成的過程中,藝術家無疑將個人的生命歷程放入作品中,而此次在非畫廊展出的作品,不單單從女性的視角,更加入為人母親的經歷,對自身的形體進行不同角度的觀察與表現。

 

距離上一次2013年個展,蔡依庭將近五年的時間未舉辦個展,這段時間他多了另一個角色—母親,是一位全職的母親,卻未曾放棄創作這條路,期間即便是挺著懷孕的大肚子,每一天的晚上,他會走到住家附近的工作室,在不是太寬敞的空間地板上,打開一大捆的水彩畫紙,跪趴在地上專心地畫畫,這是蔡依庭日常的生活狀態。

 

展覽名稱蔡依庭思考許久,命名為《初生。月內》,展出的十餘件作品正是紀錄初次生產後,作月子(台語:月內)的感受及狀態,月內對她而言是一個過渡的時間,承載著身分和身體的變化與轉換。

 

藝術是生命的一種映射,即便我們的生命充滿著可以被估算的成分,但藝術也無法像生命一樣給出具體的定義。繪畫是認識蔡依庭再自然不過的管道,在媒材的選擇上,蔡依庭同時使用粉彩及壓克力顏料,但一直以來卻是堅持以紙張創作,粉彩豐富的線性藉由手部的塗抹進入紙張的纖維縫隙,形成一種高感知的觸覺化表現。蔡依庭透過大量線條的重疊表現,作品構圖深具力量,作品《初生。月內no.4》以及《初生。月內no.6》,畫面中的主角是一隻豹,牠被放置在一個刻意塑造的場景,豹的形體經由反覆琢磨的線條、暈染和大膽的配色,交融出真切情緒的表露,眼神顯露出悲傷無助又震攝的情感,留給觀者更多的想像與思考。

 

蔡依庭的繪畫中可以讀出一些原始的訊息,作品no.13嘗試注入了更多的抽象化元素,畫面中對人體的錯位表現,形成如雕塑般的不可捉摸的異樣維度,她透過摟抱纏繞的身體來更新她長久以來所關注研究的課題—肖像與身體。

 

蔡依庭1981年生於新竹,現為專職藝術創作者。2004年畢業於國立台北藝術大學,2006年取得英國中央聖馬丁藝術學院純藝術碩士學位,曾於台灣、日本、英國等地舉行及參與展覽,《初生。月內—蔡依庭個展》將於3/24~05/05在非畫廊發表全新創作,歡迎有興趣的朋友前來欣賞。