• Interface of Delights-- George Ho's Solo Exhibition
  • Interface of Delights-- George Ho's Solo Exhibition
  • Interface of Delights-- George Ho's Solo Exhibition

Interface of Delights-- George Ho's Solo Exhibition

George Y. Ho’s Spirit Resonance

By Toshio Shimizu

 

I visited artist George Ho in his Taipei studio in August 2017. On this hot day during the dog days of summer I had the chance to view works of his from his early to most recent periods.

George Ho’s early works were heavily inspired by Greek mythology. Many of them hung like tapestries, commanding my attention. Greek mythology is an expansive universe, in which similar actors weave their own phenomena, and myths in common become the basis for sharing similar essence. Myths are real to the Greeks. Not imagined or just literature, they represent an outlook on the universe, and more so their faith - one that can be said to be the origin of all things.

To outsiders mythology is merely the product of the human imagination. However, to the greater community, myths are the real fabric from which the superstructure is formed, and reality exists tangibly outside of our subjective perception. These thoughts were on my mind as I strode into George Ho’s creative workspace.

The studio is spacious with high ceilings. One large piece hangs from the highest point, shining brilliantly. Viewed closely, it becomes clearer that it is constructed from many pieces of polyester canvas painted with different images and sewn together into one luminescent hanging. A recent painting hangs on the wall below it. Ho allowed me a look at all of his latest works, guiding me in a most interesting way. This series of works does not follow a conventional order from top to bottom and left to right, but rather can be freely put together. George told me that although these images are situated horizontally, he started painting them from the perimeter. Of course, works were never supposed to have top, bottom, left and right in a conventional sense.  The works are brightly colored, with blues, greens and yellows setting the tone; yet they do not become paired, but can rather be matched at will. Everything can even be viewed upside-down, as observers can view them from any perspective they like.

Ho relates that for him, painting exists on different real plane in real life, where works of art bridge the two. Consequently there is no absolute up, down, left or right relationship, and images are not merely works, but a passage between the two actual realms.

• 悅介面—侯玉書個展│ 2017/08/26-2017/10/07
  • 悅介面—侯玉書個展│ 2017/08/26-2017/10/07
  • 悅介面—侯玉書個展│ 2017/08/26-2017/10/07

悅介面—侯玉書個展│ 2017/08/26-2017/10/07

侯玉書的氣韻
文/國際策展人  清水敏男
2017年8月的一個炎炎夏日,我拜訪了臺北藝術家侯玉書的工作室,有機會觀賞了他早期到現今的各階段不同系列的作品。
侯玉書早期的創作,受到希臘神話的啟發,許多作品如西方大型掛毯那般,採用垂掛的形式,吸引了我的目光。希臘神話是壯闊的宇宙,神話中,有著相同本質的成員編織出屬於自己的事物,而共有這個神話也成為屬於相同本質的依據。神話對希臘人而言是真實的,並非想像更不是書籍;是宇宙觀更是信仰,可謂萬物之源。
外界看來,神話不過是人類想像力的產物。但神話對於共同體而言,是構築整體架構再現實不過的存在,而真實,則紥紥實實的存在於我們認知的主體之外。我一邊思考著前述種種,一邊步入侯玉書創作時的工作室。
工作室的空間寬敞,天花板高聳,最高處垂掛著過去的大型作品,閃耀著美麗光輝。仔細看可以發現作品是由一片片繪有圖案的小塊聚脂纖維畫布縫製而成的、會透光的掛軸。在下方的牆壁則掛著最新的繪畫作品。侯玉書讓我看了所有的最新創作,當時他帶領我觀賞的方式十分有趣;這一系列作品並非以傳統上下左右的順序排列,而是可以自由組合。侯玉書說:這些畫面是以水平放置,但由周圍開始繪製。當然作品原本就沒有上下左右之分。這些作品的色彩繽紛,並以藍、綠、黃等顏色為畫面的基調,但並沒有成對,而是可以自由自在的任意搭配。甚至上下顛倒也能成立;也就是說觀看者,可以用自我的視角觀賞作品。
侯玉書說道,他認為的繪畫是存在於我們現實生活中的另一個真實層面,作品媒介了這兩者之間,因此沒有絕對的上下左右關係。畫作並不單單只是作品,它是兩個現實境界的通道。