• Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility—Hu Kun Jung’s Solo Exhibition / 2017.07.08- 08.19
  • Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility—Hu Kun Jung’s Solo Exhibition / 2017.07.08- 08.19
  • Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility—Hu Kun Jung’s Solo Exhibition / 2017.07.08- 08.19

Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility—Hu Kun Jung’s Solo Exhibition / 2017.07.08- 08.19

Hu Kun-jung’s art can be described as geometric abstract expression. Using this approach, the artist seeks a pure, direct viewing experience. Underpinned with geometric structure, pure forms activated by colors produce subtle rhythms on the two-dimensional surface of the painting to create unlimited open space. Multiple works in Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility allow viewers to experience the beauty of art overflowing with energy in a tranquil space.

Coordination between Equilibrium and Mobility features more than 10 works from 2010 and two new works from 2017. Over this seven-year period Hu Kun-Jung spent a considerable amount of time “living seriously.”For instance, he ferments his own soy sauce and vinegar, making wine and spirits, and baking bread. He purchases tea from farmers, and rice from wholesale merchants, growing vegetables and caring for plants while at the same time ruminating on reasons for making art. Residing on the outskirts of Taipei in Xindian, he lives a tranquil and stable life, in constant pursuit of a natural, pure lifestyle, and looking forward to producing more penetrating, immaculate, and refined art.

Hu Kun-Jung has said that abstraction lets the artist and viewers engage in free and unrestricted dialogue, and to delicately express the elevated spiritual nature of art. Consequently, while not adept at spinning stories about his works, he makes no bones about expressing what lies in his heart and mind, pursuing his ideation of an idyllic world in his life. His reticence perhaps somewhat severe, it is nonetheless the artist’s most sincere declaration.

Not physically large, the artist’s new 2017 works nonetheless contain even richer shapes and color fields. Whilst the viewer may recognize the kinetic feel of his 2004-05 works, and even some of the characteristics of 2010’s The Discontinuous Squares and Movement Series, the new works seem to move more acutely - each block of color becoming an organic entity on the canvas, moving and swirling, and disorienting the viewer. Masquerade’s shapes and colors flow like wispy clouds, evoking longing and romance. Meanwhile, A Summer Sunset in Normandy is tightly structured, the arrangement of colors further displaying the artist’s exacting individuality, the space more complex and penetrating, yet giving full release to the energy he seeks to convey.

• 平衡的冥動—胡坤榮個展│ 2017/07/08-2017/08/19
  • 平衡的冥動—胡坤榮個展│ 2017/07/08-2017/08/19
  • 平衡的冥動—胡坤榮個展│ 2017/07/08-2017/08/19

平衡的冥動—胡坤榮個展│ 2017/07/08-2017/08/19

胡坤榮的創作是屬於幾何抽象繪畫的表現形式,他所訴求的是純粹而直觀的視覺經驗,以幾何建構為基調,使得純粹的造型在色彩的牽動之下,在二度空間的平面繪畫之上產生微妙的律動,創造了無限的開放空間。「平衡的冥動」一展的數件作品,是提供觀者在一個平靜平衡的空間中,同時體驗充滿動能的藝術之美。

「平衡的冥動」展出2010年的作品十件和2017年的新作二件,整整七年的時間,胡坤榮花了相當多的時間在「認真」過生活,譬如說,他釀醬油、釀醋、造酒、做麵包,向茶農買茶、米商買米,同時要種蔬菜、養植物,同時緩慢思考創作的理由,居住在新店的郊區,他的生活顯得平靜而安定,不斷追求天然而純粹的生活,期待自己的創作可以更深刻、潔淨和精進。

胡坤榮說:抽象,使藝術家和觀者可以自由的溝通而不受限制,可以微妙的呈現藝術高度的精神性;所以他不擅長替作品說故事,他只是毫不掩飾的透過繪畫表達自己內心的所思所想,並追尋著自己生命中的理想世界,他的盡在不言中,或許有些霸道,卻也是藝術家最真誠的表態。

2017年的全新作品尺幅不大,但在平塗的空間裡容納了更豐富的造型和色塊,觀者看見了如2004-05年發表的充滿律動性的作品,甚至2010年的「非連續四方系列」、「移動系列」等特色,但新作似乎動得更敏銳,每一個色塊在畫布上成了動態的有機體,在畫面移游旋轉,令觀者目眩。「假面舞會」裡面的造型和色塊如浮雲,在空間中流轉,顯得浪漫;「諾曼第的夏日黃昏」則結構嚴謹,色塊的安排更見藝術家的匠心獨具,空間更複雜,卻也更深沈,他自我要求的動能感也完全釋放。